Caution When Taking Certain Supplements

One of the places I headed to yesterday morning was the Vitamin Shoppe.

I was there before the store opened up at ten am.

I arrived by nine thirty-five or nine forty, somewhere around that time.

There was an individual already sitting in their parked car in the parking lot before I got there.

Then a lady arrived five minutes before the store opened.

So, we were all early birds, eager to get into the Vitamin Shoppe to replenish our supply of healthy essentials.

Once the doors finally opened a few more people entered in with us.

I had run out of B complex supplements. There was one bottle of a particular brand left on the shelf.

As I have mentioned before, I no longer take synthetic forms of vitamins only whole food sources.

When I took synthetic supplements for the over thirty years that I have I was getting B complex 100mg, and 500mg to 1500 of C complex or C with Rose Hips.

When we take synthetic forms of vitamins, we consume high doses that may not properly absorb within our bodies. Therefore, with whole food sources we are naturally obtaining a lower dosage that better absorbs into our system.

I have never had any health issues due to taking synthetic forms of supplements. I am extremely healthy. Yet, I would rather have vitamins that come from an all-natural derivative rather than something that can further down the line contribute to a health problem or the potential to cause harm.

The bottom line is I love myself and I respect my body and I do not want to put unnecessary substances into my system, especially when the body does not require them initially.

Another concern of mine were fillers and binding agents such as magnesium stearate, stearate acid, microcrystalline cellulose, and so on. I do not want any more of that crap in my body so I stopped it!

Since with whole food source vitamins are low in dosage compared to synthetic, I also purchased another brand of supplements to go along with my B complex a while back.

This was a multi whole food vitamin that in addition had all the b vitamins along with a, c, e, k, d, and minerals.

I also take a separate whole food C supplement by the same brand as the B complex.

When I began the multivitamin about three months ago everything was all good. I could tell the supplement was potent as I tasted the hot cayenne pepper after the capsule opened up in my mouth.

Vitamins work fast on me, generally, because my system is clean.

I had no problem giving feedback to the company when they sent me an email asking my opinion on the product. Before I ever used the product, I called them up and got a live person to answers questions I was curious about ahead of trying the item out to begin with.

I gave a positive review; however, I had spoken too soon. I had even ordered a second bottle for when I would eventually run out of the first bottle that I purchased.

I think it was after three weeks that I experienced an alarming dizziness when I went to lie down then raise back up again. It was like the room was partially spinning. I had also experienced a headache. I knew what was the cause as I assumed it was this new product I had been taking.

After a few weeks of the supplement being cleared out of my system those symptoms of dizziness and headache ceased.

I had thought about taking them again to confirm it was the item itself and not just a coincidence of maybe hormones or other periodical changes that may occur within the body, and I did not want the supplements to go to waste.

I was excited about taking this multivitamin that impressed me with its contents and advertisements.

Though, I decided not to take that chance.

Of course, just because a vitamin supplement is touted as natural, safe, and wholesome does not mean that it actually is. There could be company dishonesty and dangers that lurk behind.

Sometimes with headquarters it is more about the profit of money than for the benefit of consumer health.

I am not trying to criticize anyone’s corporation but I have been consuming vitamins altogether for over forty years and have never had an incident of this nature occur.

As a word of warning be careful of Phyto Vitamins, Multivitamin (No Iron) by Nature’s Brands.

The claims on the bottle and on the website states that the product is made with organic fruits and vegetables. That it is a one hundred percent raw and natural formula. And, that it is a pure whole food vitamin that is vegetarian, non-irradiated, and additive free.

This is the ingredient list:

Organic Sesame (seed), Organic Thyme (leaf), Organic Celery (seed), Organic Sunflower (seed), Organic Fennel (seed), Organic Lentil (pulse), Organic Coriander (seed), Organic Dill (seed), Organic Fenugreek (seed), Organic Horsetail (aerial), Organic Black Bean (pulse), Organic Cayenne (fruit), Organic Acerola (fruit), Organic Rose Hip (fruit), Organic Cranberry (fruit), Organic Parsley (leaf), Organic Turmeric (root), Organic Pumpkin (seed), Organic Flax (seed), Organic Caraway (seed), Organic Anise (seed).

 

* Organic Whole Food Vitamin Supplement – USDA Certified as Made with Organic.

  • Vegetarian and vegan
  • 100% pure and all natural
  •  With certified organic ingredients, Non-Gmo
  •  Totally isolateand synthetic vitamin free
  • Filler free, additive free, preservative free
  • Free from yeast, gluten, dairy, soy and corn
  • Free from artificial colors, flavors, preservatives
  • Not fermented, magnesium stearate free capsules
  • One of the first whole food vitamins (since 1995)
  • Non-heated, non-irradiated whole food organic vitamins
  • Proudly Made in the USA

I read nothing within the contents that was a cause for any concern unless one of the specific naturals did not agree with me, or as I suggested before, the product is not honestly advertised.

Otherwise, the other brand of whole food vitamins that I use is by NutriGold. They are excellent! I have had absolutely no problems with the supplements. They are just expensive!

A little side note: NutriGold as well as certain other brands sell whole food Multivitamins that I could have chosen to take instead. The reason I wanted Nature’s Brand to work out is because it is very difficult to find a whole food multivitamin that does not contain any kelp (seaweed) as all the others do.